awards of excellence

Awards of Excellence 2022

A proud Alumni Association tradition, the Awards of Excellence honour those who’ve distinguished themselves in different places and at different stages of their career, all for the betterment of society.  
Mélanye Boissonnault

Mélanye Boissonnault (BEd ’98)

Mélanye Boissonnault studied journalism at Université Laval and holds a Bachelor of Education degree from the University of Ottawa. On joining Radio-Canada, she worked as a cultural reporter, first in Toronto and then in Montreal. She now hosts Les matins d’ici, the number one morning radio show in the Ottawa-Gatineau region.

Jesse Jones

Jesse Jones (BA ’03; Gee Gees Men’s Basketball ’00-’02)

While Jesse Jones’ studied in communications at the University of Ottawa, he played basketball as a Gee-Gee for several years. Now, he is a creator, executive producer, host, speaker and head of Jones & Jones Group. He's also appeared as host of the inaugural season of Bachelor in Paradise Canada as well as co-hosting duties on Entertainment Tonight Canada.

Beverley McKiver

Beverley McKiver (Cert-Arts'19)

Beverley McKiver is an Ottawa-based composer, pianist and teacher, originally from northwestern Ontario. Beverley is a member of Lac Seul First Nation in Treaty 3. She is a 2019 graduate of the University of Ottawa’s Certificate in Piano Pedagogy. 



Emily Kistemaker, violin
William Paradine, violin
Kate Moran, viola
Jacob MacDonald, cello

Meet our winners

Every year, we gather as a uOttawa community to celebrate our outstanding alumni. With awards recognizing alumni achievement, our alumnus or alumna of the year, commitment to the University, an exceptional young alumni and community service, our annual awards ceremony is an inspiring affair. Here are the 2022 winners:  

Calin Rovinescu

Meritas Tabaret Award for Alumni Achievement - Calin Rovinescu (LLB ’80)

From a young law graduate to an iconic business figure, Calin Rovinescu (LLB ’80) had a brilliant career in corporate law before making his name as a talented strategist heading Air Canada, a corporation he took to new heights before his retirement in 2021. Today, he continues his multiple efforts on behalf of his alma mater. 

Veronique Lecault

Alumna of the Year Award - Véronique Lecault (BSc'06, BASc’06)

Entrepreneur Véronique Lecault (BSc'06, BASc’06)  combines leading-edge technology, biology and creativity to equip Canada and the world to both react rapidly to future coronavirus waves and to prevent and fight a slew of other diseases through new antibodies. 

Michel Prévost

Award for Commitment to the University - Michel Prévost (BSocSc ’78, MA ’85)

A loyal guardian of Franco-Ontarian heritage, Michel Prévost (BSocSc ’78, MA ’85) has both helped to enhance the University’s pride and knowledge of its history through his archival work and served as a  valued philanthropist benefitting his alma mater’s next generation. 

Eric Agyemang

Award for Community Service - Eric Agyemang (BCom ’15)

Eric Agyemang (BCom ’15) has always put people at the forefront of his personal and professional efforts. His goal: to give both underrepresented groups and up and coming entrepreneurs the means to find their own way to economic and social success.  

Nathan Hall

Young Alumni Award - Nathan Hall (BSocSc ’07)

Anti-racism, inclusion, social entrepreneurship — as founder of the platform Culture Check, Nathan Hall (BSocSc ’07) has offered help to thousands of people experiencing racism in the workplace and provided sensitive guidance to organizations that wish to make a genuine culture shift. 

Susan Rust

Honorary Member of the Alumni Association - Susan Rust

By establishing an assistance fund and broadening access to field courses, Susan Rust wished to keep the memory of her husband, the late professor Brian Rust, alive. In doing so, she has become a faithful ally of students in our Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences.