Alumni Award

The Alumni Award is given every year as part of the Dean’s Excellence Awards Ceremony, which highlights the innovation and important being done at the Faculty.

We’re very fortunate to have many distinguished alumni. Since 2019, we have been recognizing alumni with exceptional career achievements who have made a significant impact on individuals, an organization, a community or society as a whole.

Past recipients of the Alumni Award

Pierre-Marc Dion
BScN (2013), BHK (2020)
Registered Nurse, Emergency and Critical Care​, Montfort Hospital

Pierre-Marc Dion is a registered nurse working in the emergency and intensive care departments of Montfort Hospital. He is also a simulations teacher at the Institut du Savoir Montfort, where he teaches advanced pediatric and cardiac resuscitation techniques. He was formerly a flight nurse in the Canadian Armed Forces. His passion for the field of health care led Pierre-Marc Dion to study nursing and human kinetics at the University of Ottawa. He has also pursued graduate studies in nursing at Durham College to specialize in the field of critical care.

Pierre-Marc Dion


Emily Paterson
BHSc (2009)
Director of Approaches to Community Wellbeing, Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority

Emily Paterson is a graduate of the Interdisciplinary School of Health Sciences. Emily’s impressive work and commitment in overseeing the transition and implementation of public health services for Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority and the 31 First Nations serviced by the Approaches to Community Wellbeing make her the ideal recipient for this award.

Placeholder image
students with their thumbs up

Help us achieve our vision

Donate to the Faculty