As part of the CRMF program, the University of Ottawa has created a Francophone Mobility Chairs program to provide support to guest international researchers during their stay at the University of Ottawa.


The Francophone Mobility Chair must contribute to meeting the program’s objectives, as follows:

  1. Uphold and pursue the University of Ottawa’s tradition of excellence in research on French-speaking communities in Ontario, Canada and around the world.
  2. Promote Francophonie research in connection with the strategic areas of development in research at the University of Ottawa.     
  3. Encourage interdisciplinary collaboration in Francophonie research and on the realities of the Francophone world.   
  4. Foster the development and inclusion of new researchers on the Francophonie from here and elsewhere, at every level (master’s students, doctoral candidates, postdocs, interns, researchers and professors).  
  5. Ensure the internal and external visibility of the CRMF program’s research activities, especially through knowledge mobilization, by working in close collaboration with the program’s Council of Chairs. 

Ahmed Boubeker is a professor in the Department of Sociology at Université Jean Monnet à Saint-Étienne, Université de Lyon (France) and assistant director of the Centre Max Weber. His research focuses on migration, ethnicity in France and post-colonial issues. His work will contribute to expanding research into the migration of Haitian and Berber Francophones to Canada.

Éloïse Brezault is a professor of Francophone and African studies at Saint Lawrence University (U.S.). Her research, which will be conducted in collaboration with faculty and students from a variety of institutions across the French-speaking world, will study the construction of race and identity.

Professor Julia Ndibnu-Messina Ethé, from the University of Yaoundé I (Cameroon), will explore bilingual and multilingual teaching, as well as the use of information and communication technology (ICT) in first and second language teaching at the elementary and high school levels, with an eye to strengthening learners’ professional skills and language fluency.

Nicolas Peyre is a teacher and researcher in communications and information science at the Institute in Space, Territories, Culture and Communications Law (IDETCOM), Toulouse 1 Capitole Université (France). His research will examine French soft diplomacy in Ottawa from a Francophone perspective and the global branding of France’s public museums within the Francophonie.

Denis Provencher, a professor of French and Francophone cultural studies and director of the Department of French and Italian at the University of Arizona (U.S.), will conduct research on the experiences of diasporic racialized or immigrant Francophones who are queer and living in Canada.

Call for nominations

1. When considering nominations for the Francophone Mobility Chair, priority will be given to international (out of Canada) researchers who are recognized as specialists in the Francophonie in different domains. The program does not impose any restrictions on candidate nationality or country of residence. The Francophone Mobility Chair will not be granted to a University of Ottawa professor. The incumbent will receive assistance from the Council of Chairs and Human Resources to obtain a Canadian work permit.

2. The candidate must hold a faculty position on a full-time basis at a university or an accredited research institution.

3. The mobility chair will not fund any doctoral or post-doctoral projects or trainees.

4. Only nominations that are supported and submitted by a full-time professor from the University of Ottawa will be accepted and evaluated.

The holder of the Francophone Mobility Chair will receive a grant of up to $40,000 CAD for one year – or $3,333 CAD per month (in addition to a maximum amount of $10,000 CAD to cover travel costs). The funds must be used in keeping with the rules governing the eligibility of travel costs, as established in the University of Ottawa’s Policy 21 and Procedure 16-11. In the event where the incumbent agrees to assume one or multiple teaching loads, an additional financial compensation will be allocated by the Faculty offering the course(s), as per the rules in place.