Aerial view of uOttawa Campus

Covid-19

COVID SMART IS COVID SAFE

Given the public health safety measures required in response to COVID-19, the University of Ottawa has adapted its activities since the beginning of the pandemic and continues to do so.

Naturally, we are still prioritizing the basic principles that have guided us since the start of the pandemic, namely our commitment to the health and safety of the University community along with the continuity of our activities.

Considering the continued improvement of the COVID-19 situation in Ontario and in Ottawa-Gatineau, the University of Ottawa will suspend masking requirements on campus effective June 1. Note that masking will still be mandatory at convocation ceremonies taking place at the Shaw Centre from June 6 to June 10 inclusively. Exceptions to this change will be communicated to you directly by your faculty.

As it is difficult to predict the evolution of the pandemic and the emergence of new variants, this decision could be reversed at any point in the future depending on public health directives or the recommendations of experts.  

We strongly urge all members of our community to take every vaccine dose they are eligible for as advised by public health authorities.  Although masks will no longer be mandatory, we encourage everyone to do what they feel is safest for them. Please respect everyone’s individual choice. You can assess risk by visiting Ottawa Public Health’s website.

uOttawa employees, professors, and student groups can host events on campus.

The requirement to be fully vaccinated has been suspended. We continue to strongly encourage you to get fully vaccinated and to get booster doses as soon as you become eligible, in order to protect yourself and the people around you. Based on the recommendation of the Chief Medical Officer of Health and in alignment with the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI), the province has begun offering third doses (booster doses) of the COVID-19 vaccine to the following populations if at least three months (84 days) have passed since their last dose:

  • Individuals aged 18 and over (born in 1971 or earlier);
  • Health care workers; (PDF, 393 KB)
  • Designated essential caregivers in congregate settings (including long-term care home and retirement home staff and designated caregivers);
  • Individuals who received a complete series of a viral vector vaccine (two doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine or one dose of the Janssen vaccine); and
  • First Nation, Inuit and Métis adults (16+) and their non-Indigenous household members.

Travelling

With the Government of Canada’s decision to lift the advisory against international travel for fully vaccinated travellers, students can travel to destinations listed by Global Affairs Canada as “exercise normal security precautions” or “exercise a high degree of caution.”

See the Global Affairs Canada destination advisories.

The evolving nature of COVID-19 means that travel and public health restrictions will continue to pose a challenge. Therefore, trips may be cancelled or delayed. It is important for travellers to identify and mitigate travel-related risks.

As travel resumes, students are required to register all international university trips through the uOttawa student travel registry. Faculty and staff should continue to register their trips. The International Office travel safety website provides access to access the registries and travel advice for uOttawa travellers. Please see the information below on the latest travel procedures.

airplane taking off

International visitors can visit the campus and participate in in-person activities.

They must also meet the Government of Canada vaccination requirements for travel to and within Canada.

Please note: The Government of Canada definition of full vaccination may not be the same as the Government of Ontario definition.

Remember that incoming travel and quarantine restrictions can change at any time. Fully vaccinated travellers need a back-up quarantine plan but should be exempt from quarantine on arrival in Canada.

We will continue to provide travel support letters and quarantine support for students.

airplanes on tarmac

Public Health Information

On campus

For Ontario Residents

Telehealth Ontario: 1-866-797-0000
or TTY: 1-866-797-0007

For Quebec Residents

Info-Santé: 1-877-644-4545
or TTY: 1-800-361-9596

Vue aérienne du campus de l'uOttawa

Covid-19

ON FAIT CE QU’IL FAUT

Depuis le début de la pandémie, l’Université d’Ottawa a adapté ses activités aux mesures sanitaires en place.

Bien entendu, les grands principes qui nous guident depuis le début de la pandémie, soit la santé et la sécurité de la communauté universitaire de même que la continuité des activités, demeurent au centre de nos priorités.

Puisque la situation de la COVID-19 en Ontario et à Ottawa-Gatineau continue de s’améliorer, l’Université d’Ottawa suspendra l’obligation de porter le masque sur le campus le 1er juin. Le port du masque demeurera toutefois obligatoire aux cérémonies de collation des grades qui se tiendront au Centre Shaw du 6 au 10 juin inclusivement. Les exceptions à ce changement vous seront communiquées directement par votre faculté, le cas échéant.

Étant donné qu’il est difficile de prédire l’évolution de la pandémie et l’émergence de nouveaux variants, cette décision pourrait être annulée à tout moment en fonction des directives de la santé publique ou des recommandations des spécialistes.   

Nous encourageons fortement tous les membres de notre communauté à recevoir les doses de vaccin auxquelles ils ont droit, comme le conseillent les autorités sanitaires. Le port du masque ne sera plus exigé, mais nous encourageons chaque personne à faire ce qui lui semble le plus sécuritaire et à respecter les choix des autres. Vous pouvez évaluer les risques sur le site Web de Santé publique Ottawa.  

Les employés, professeurs et groupes d'études de l'Université peuvent organiser des événements sur le campus.

 

Cette exigence a été suspendue. Nous encourageons fortement tous les membres de notre communauté à recevoir les doses de vaccin auxquelles ils ont droit, comme le conseillent les autorités sanitaires.Conformément aux recommandations du Bureau du médecin hygiéniste en chef et aux orientations du Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation, la province de l’Ontario a amorcé l’administration d’une troisième dose (dite « de rappel ») des vaccins contre la COVID-19 chez les personnes des catégories suivantes, dans la mesure où leur dernière dose remonte à au moins trois mois (84 jours) :

  • personnes âgées de 18 ans et plus (nées en 1971 ou avant);
  • travailleuses et travailleurs de la santé; (PDF, 286 ko)
  • aidantes ou aidants essentiels désignés en établissement (y compris le personnel et les personnes aidantes désignées au sein d’établissements de soins de longue durée et de maisons de retraite);
  • personnes qui ont reçu toutes les doses d’un vaccin à vecteur viral (deux doses du vaccin AstraZeneca ou une dose du vaccin Janssen); et
  • adultes des communautés des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis (de 16 ans et plus) et membres non autochtones de leur ménage.

Voyage

Le Gouvernement du Canada ayant levé l’avertissement décourageant les déplacements à l’étranger pour les personnes entièrement vaccinées, les membres de la population étudiante peuvent désormais se rendre à certaines destinations répertoriées par Affaires mondiales Canada dans la rubrique « prendre des mesures de sécurité normales » ou « faire preuve d’une grande prudence ».

En raison de la nature évolutive de la pandémie, les restrictions en matière de déplacements à l’étranger et de santé publique peuvent changer. En effet, les voyages peuvent toujours être annulés ou retardés. Les voyageuses et voyageurs doivent tenir compte des risques associés à leur déplacement et prendre les mesures qui s’imposent.

À mesure que les voyages reprennent, les étudiants seront tenus de s’inscrire au registre des voyages étudiants d’uOttawa pour tous leurs voyages reliés à l’Université. Le corps professoral et le personnel devraient continuer d’enregistrer leurs voyages. Le site web sécurité des voyages du Bureau international permet d’accéder aux registres et aux conseils aux voyageurs de l’Université d’Ottawa. Veuillez consulter les informations ci-dessous sur les dernières procédures de voyage.

Avion qui décolle

Si les personnes proviennent de l’étranger, elles peuvent participer à des activités en personne sur le campus.

Elles doivent aussi correspondre à la définition du gouvernement canadien en matière de vaccination complète pour se rendre au Canada et se déplacer dans le pays.

Remarque : La définition du gouvernement canadien de vaccination complète peut être différente de celle du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Rappelons aussi que les règles touchant les voyages et la quarantaine peuvent changer à tout moment. Les voyageurs entièrement vaccinés doivent avoir un plan de quarantaine provisoire, mais devraient exemptés de quarantaine à leur arrivée au Canada.

Le Bureau international continuera d’émettre des lettres de soutien au voyage et d’offrir une assistance à la communauté étudiante pendant la quarantaine.

Avions sur le tarmac

Information sur la santé publique

Sur le campus

Pour les résidents de l’Ontario

Télésanté Ontario au 1-866-797-0000
ou ATS : 1-866-797-0007

Pour les résidents du Québec

Info-Santé : 1-877-644-4545
ou ATS : 1-800-361-9596